The Green Machine: making my home more energy efficient

Photo Courtesy of Adam Bowie-- Flickr.com

Photo Courtesy of Adam Bowie– Flickr.com

There’s nothing like the Texas heat to remind me that I am using too much water, and my electric bills are through the roof! Going green has become a very popular way to not only help our communities stay clean and beautiful, but also helps keep money in our wallets while finding creative ways to look at energy. It’s really easy for us to keep everything running on high all summer, but here are a few tips I have learned that keeps my bills down!

        • Lower the thermostat on the water heater down to 120 F.
        • Only wash your clothes when you can put in a full load.
        • Air dry clothes.
        • Keep all doors and windows closed as much as possible when cooling your home.
        • Use power strips for your electronics and turn off/ unplug at night or when not in use.
        • Air/ Towel dry your dishes
        • drive sensibly; avoid rapid acceleration/ braking to save on fuel.

These are just a few methods I use to save on our energy bills and stay conscious about what we actually need versus how much we use. I am always looking for more ways to make things easier for our home. Let me know if there are any tricks and tips you have!

Leave a comment